top of page
  • Jessica Ungeheuer

Small Updates About My Absence:

Hi everyone, I know it's been a long time since I last posted on here. Life has been a bit of a roller coaster for me. Not in the good way unfortunately. It was a series of bad and frustrating events that just kept coming. That's the thing about life though, no matter what happens, it still moves on. So I will keep pushing through the muck I have to deal with.



Photo by Fatoma Ibrahim: https://www.pexels.com/photo/yellow-daisy-flower-in-closeup-photo-1000974/


In late December there was a family emergency that changed my day to day life dramatically. It took a long time to get things back to "normal," if you could call it that. So my writing has been slow. I also had a medical scare for my own health this month, that I am glad ended up turning out fine. Now, with summer here, I finally have more free time coming back into my schedule, I plan to start posting here again.


In my off time, I've been exploring different ideas for getting my name out there in the writing/reader communities and connect to people. I really want to be a successful published author. Whether it be by self publishing or by the traditional method. I have been pushing myself to write more stories to better my craft. Some of which I'm thinking of posting on Wattpad. I would love to have all my works published traditionally, but that is looking more and more like a pipe dream.


Publishing is hard. I knew that from the beginning, and I'm not giving up. I'm just finding my own way through it. Especially with the industry as a whole in disarray. Every day I log onto my Twitter I see more and more posts of editors and agents leaving the industry. With each of these posts, I see less and less opportunities for writers like me to be traditionally published. To be published by one of the Big publishing houses was a dream, but I think just making my story able to be in a reader's hands is more important to me. Life is short, I really felt that this year. I want people to hear my tales, regardless if they like or hate them. At least they are being read. There isn't one path to being successful at writing, and it took me a long time to learn that.



Photo by Bich Tran: https://www.pexels.com/photo/motivational-quotes-760728/


Speaking of tales. I'm almost done with my massive rewrite of my first novel Z.E.R.O. that I want to publish. I think it's much stronger than it was. I'm actually excited about it again. When I'm finished with rewrites, I'm going to need some new beta readers. If you are interested, feel free to leave a comment below, or just dm me on twitter or facebook. I'm still debating of returning to the query trenches with it one more time, or to just move forward with self publishing. I don't want to shelve this story.


If I do decide to self publish it, that doesn't mean I will never try to traditionally publish. I will again in the future, with another novel idea that I have been working on for the past two years.


Sorry this was not an exciting post, but I felt I needed to update you all on what is going on. I was originally going to write about the series finale to "This is Us", but as a true pantser, my fingers and thoughts had other plans, lol. I might still write about it. (Really Really good show, lol). For those readers I have that still read my blog posts, lol. I just want to say...




I love and appreciate you all! <3

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page